Home-built chaff collector/cooler for Kaldi 400

Discuss roast levels and profiles for espresso, equipment for roasting coffee.
roastingrick
Supporter ♡

#1: Post by roastingrick »

Hi fellow roasters. This is my first time sharing on this site but I have found many of the conversations very helpful! Thanks!
For anyone who's interested, I thought I'd share a video of a chaff collector/cooler I just built for my Kaldi 400. I'm fairly new to this type of coffee roasting and will be roasting with this new chaff collector setup in a few days. Sorry that my filmography skill aren't better!

CarefreeBuzzBuzz

#2: Post by CarefreeBuzzBuzz »

Very creative; post your results with it after you have done a few roasts.

So the gold sieve with small mesh catches the chaff, and then you remover that at the end of the roast and use the bigger mesh for cooling the beans? Do I understand that right?
CarefreeBuzzBuzz
___
Artisan Quick Start Guide
http://bit.ly/ArtisanQuickStart

Decent Espresso: espresso equipment for serious baristas
Sponsored by Decent Espresso
roastingrick (original poster)
Supporter ♡

#3: Post by roastingrick (original poster) »

I did a very crude mockup using the two sieves with the same exhaust fan (only did one roast to test) and it worked pretty well. You can get finer and coarser mesh sieves as well. I'll follow up after I do a few roasts with this setup.

Supporter ♡

#4: Post by roastingrick (original poster) »

I left the fine sieve in place with the chaff and placed the coarse mesh over it. The beans cooled down fairly quickly but I will also try it with removing the fine mesh sieve first.

CarefreeBuzzBuzz

#5: Post by CarefreeBuzzBuzz »

Looks good. I would think the double method is fine. I use one of those like yours with the wider mesh to remove fine dust before roasting. Means I clean my fan less often. So I was happy to see those green mesh gold pans.
CarefreeBuzzBuzz
___
Artisan Quick Start Guide
http://bit.ly/ArtisanQuickStart

Rickpatbrown