Help with Quest M3, specific light roasts

Discuss roast levels and profiles for espresso, equipment for roasting coffee.
Word_salad

#1: Post by Word_salad »

Hey all, hoping to get some advice roasting with the Quest M3. I've been using this roaster with artisan for a few months and I feel like I can get good medium roasts, but my 'light' roasts are always underwhelming. Specifically my light roast are basically the same as my medium roasts in color and taste. Even when I drop the roast right after first crack the beans are always medium to dark in color and while the the taste isn't bad it's not the bright flavors I think I can be getting from the beans.

I've tried a few things posted on these boards, higher charge temp, lower charge temp, faster ramp, slower ramp, fast overall roast, extended maillard phase, etc and the beans always come out the same.

Here's a profile from a roast yesterday on some Ethiopia Yirg

For this one I started with no fan and power at 9 amps, turned the fan on at ~2 mins in and dropped the power to 7 amps at dry end.

Here's a kenyan I did a while ago

For this one I started pretty hot with the power at 11 amps and dropped it down to 7.5 amps at dry end then dropped it early, still pretty dark.

Here's one I just tried to roast hot and fast the whole thing, don't remember the exact power

I've tried some other things and have lots of plots

Thanks for reading!

Rickpatbrown

#2: Post by Rickpatbrown »

Your Kenya profile looks good with the ROR. You control the roast well.

Maybe try smaller batches to get through everything faster. My light roasts are usually under 10 minutes.

I feel longer roast times degrade a lot of flavor, especially delicate floral/fruit. We tend to call this "baking" the roast.