Frustration with Brazil Salmo

Discuss roast levels and profiles for espresso, equipment for roasting coffee.
pressorespresso

#1: Post by pressorespresso »

I've been roasting with a Behmor for more than three years, without many problems--until now. I purchased a sack of Brazil Salmo Plus Natural NY 2/3 SCR 16+ 2021 from Genuine Origin and it's been nothing but heartbreak and heartburn for the last three roasts (3/4 lb x 4 roasts per session).

The first session, I barely heard the first crack (a recurring theme) and ended up with burned beans. Second session I stopped after hearing some indications of a first crack and it turned out I was was woefully too early: undrinkable sourness. Today I tried again and it looks like I didn't let the roast go on long enough. I hear a few pops, let it go for another two minutes: too light. And I'm adding a couple of minutes at the end the Behmor's "time increment," so I'm definitely roasting for longer than I do for other beans. The problem is that I hear what definitely sounds like a few beans going through first crack, I let it roast a while longer, then see it was badly over- or under-roasted.

Any suggestions? I suppose I'll get the hang of this bean through sheer repetition, but I'd like to succeed earlier than later.

tglodjo

#2: Post by tglodjo »

I have a box of those as well. Definitely soft on the crack-it's so hard to hear. I'm roasting on an Artisan 3-e and have been using temp and sight to get a solid medium roast. When you hit the sweet spot, it's great. Not complex, but smooth and balanced. The Behmor might make it difficult to dial in though. The minimal and low volume first crack has been frustrating.

pressorespresso (original poster)

#3: Post by pressorespresso (original poster) »

Thanks for the confirmation. Maybe it's finally time for a roaster upgrade. I even checked my quartz bulbs, wondering if maybe one of 'em was out.

Meanwhile, I'll just wing it and not "whinge" it.

hankua
Supporter ♡