Confused about BT during crack

Discuss roast levels and profiles for espresso, equipment for roasting coffee.
Coffee Cougar

#1: Post by Coffee Cougar »

I have been roasting on my Quest M3s for a few months now. Prior to starting my coffee roasting adventure, I have been reading and learning a lot from forums like these and videos on YT. From these sources, I have learnt that during first crack the beans release a lot of temperature and the BT reading might increase rapidly.

On my Quest I am getting very different readings, however. Prior to first crack my ROR increases slightly and in to first crack the ROR decreases rapidly. As soon as first crack has finished the temperature rapidly rises and continues to rise during second crack.
Could anyone explain why my results are so very different from what I have read? I am consciously keeping my heat and fan consistent throughout the roast, so that cannot be the cause.

The image shows the roast of 150g of Uganda Bugisu. I also noticed that my turning point takes place very early, though let's stick to one question for this topic.

Almico

#2: Post by Almico »

There is a 7 page thread 4 posts down discussing this very issue.

Your graph is a perfect example of a "natural" roast, where no heat adjustments are made throughout the roast.

"Nonexistence of Heat Momentum"

Your goal is to learn how to control your roaster to achieve an RoR curve more like this:

Maybe charge lower, but with more heat before dry-end to remove some sag. Then turn the heat down prior to the plateau before first crack and down even more to stop the rise at the end.

civ

#3: Post by civ »

Hello:

Welcome to HB.

I see you are new here so I'll take the liberty to (very emphatically) recommend the use of the search function before posting a question.
Nine out of then times you will see that the question you want to post about has already been asked and answered a few times already.

Edit: