Coffee roaster exhaust / vents

Discuss roast levels and profiles for espresso, equipment for roasting coffee.
warlock

#1: Post by warlock »

hey roasters,
Hope you are well.

I am in the process of setting up my roaster (complete newbie / first timer)

Could you please suggest the types of pipes you have used for the vents in your roaster. I have a small 2kg setup and I am now looking to buy some venting pipes but keen to hear suggestions / recommendations. My original idea was to set it upwards, ie to the ceiling and let the air out via my roof but then I understand that the end of the pipe might not be easily accessible at most times. Although it doesnt snow where I live, I understand that the top end of the pipe would need very regular cleaning? would that be a correct assumption?

What would you recommend?

Any and all suggestions welcome :)

Thanks!!

Capuchin Monk

#2: Post by Capuchin Monk »

Cleaning would apply to the entire pipe setup, not just the top end. The frequency of cleaning would depend on how often you roast. If possible, you want to install it where it's easier to access. Pipe through the wall instead of roof may be a better choice. The following link is for commercial duty setup. https://millcityroasters.com/commercial ... r-venting/

Advertisement
Capuchin Monk

#3: Post by Capuchin Monk »

Have a look at this example. ARC 800 Roaster

mkane
Supporter ♡

#4: Post by mkane »

Heck, I don't even use a vent. I just open the door and let the smoke out when I'm done. Not good for my health :roll: I'm old and it doesn't matter.

hankua
Supporter ♡

#5: Post by hankua »