Artisan Modbus Communication Error

Discuss roast levels and profiles for espresso, equipment for roasting coffee.
Shawnaks5
Supporter ♡

#1: Post by Shawnaks5 »

I'm having an issue with Artisan Roasting Software and I'm not sure who to contact. I have a San Franciscan SF-6. When I start a roast.... in the top left of the screen in Artisan, it says "modbus communication error" and I never see the roast curve. It's like Artisan will not communicate with my roaster all of a sudden. I have the latest version of Artisan installed and the latest version of MAC OS installed (I wonder if Artisan isn't liking Mac OS 12 Monterey). It seemed to happen after I upgraded my Mac Software to Monterey. It's been working fine for months, but all of a sudden last night the error happened.

I have a "USB to RS-485/422 Isolated Converter" (USB-ISO-485) on the roaster. I searched HB for this issue and found a couple threads, but I don't really understand them. I'm not a programmer.

If anyone can help, I'd appreciate it. I've already emailed San Franciscan, messaged Artisan on Instagram, and emailed Serial Comm, the manufacturer of the Converter. I haven't heard back from anyone yet. Just thought I'd reach out here as well.

MaKoMo

#2: Post by MaKoMo replying to Shawnaks5 »

Most likely the installed driver for your RS485 converter is not compatible with macOS 12.x. There might be an update available. Did you check?

Shawnaks5 (original poster)
Supporter ♡

#3: Post by Shawnaks5 (original poster) replying to MaKoMo »

Thanks for the response! Yes I checked. It looks like the latest driver is from May 18 2021. This could be the problem. Not sure what to do from here other than try and revert my Mac Software to the previous version.

srosemer

#4: Post by srosemer »