Advice for newbie roaster

Discuss roast levels and profiles for espresso, equipment for roasting coffee.
Aure87

#1: Post by Aure87 »

Hi, I'm new in the roasting world.
I bought a Kaldi Wide roaster and I put this on 3,8kW stovetop burner.
I had 2 thermocouples; 1 for bean temperature (3mm diameter) ; 1 for exhaust (3mm diameter).
This morning I have done my 10st roast with Guatemala beans.
What do you think about artisan's curves?
Any advice?
Right now I do not taste, but the smell is good.
90% of the time, I drink espresso coffee, extract with bottomless portafilter.
I'm French, so it's a little bit difficult for me to speak english, I hope you will understand :-)

CarefreeBuzzBuzz

#2: Post by CarefreeBuzzBuzz »

Curves look good. Times and temps looks good.

Beans look a bit uneven in roasting so could be the beans.

Your taste will tell you.

There's lots of features of Artisan that you can take advantage of. Read the Quick Start Guide linked in my signature. I suggest you skim all the pages to learn the features overall and then dig in deeper on the ones of interest.

Welcome to the community, Michael
CarefreeBuzzBuzz
___
Artisan Quick Start Guide
http://bit.ly/ArtisanQuickStart

Aure87 (original poster)

#3: Post by Aure87 (original poster) »

Michael,

Thank you, Guatemala beans are composed with 2 differents varieties bourbon and caturra.

Aurelien

Mbb

#4: Post by Mbb »

Well, you type english better than most speak it....so welcome.

keno

#5: Post by keno »

A few tips if you are just starting out:
  • Get a decent quantity of a bean and stick with it
  • Use a bean with a predictable roasting profile (a lot of South or Central Americans are good). Avoid challenging beans (Kenyans, naturals, etc)
  • Use the same size batch from roast to roast, find out the recommended batch size from others who have used your particular roaster