Profitec Pro 700 Review - Page 2

Behind the scenes of the site's upcoming equipment reviews.
simonp123

Postby simonp123 » Nov 26, 2014, 12:22 pm

Oh, by the way my machine came with a 4-hole steam tip as standard, so I guess they do supply those.

User avatar
HB
Admin

Postby HB » Nov 26, 2014, 12:28 pm

simonp123 wrote:...what temperature offset was set in the PID when you were taking the shot temperature measurements with the SCACE device?

I used the recommended settings as indicated in the updated PDF (E1 = 14°C).
Dan Kehn

User avatar
erics

Postby erics » Nov 26, 2014, 12:47 pm

. . . though I do have Eric's E61 thermometer adapter in the Rituale which I may move across.

If you do so, please follow the reinstallation instructions in the manual . . . preferably using a new copper washer and new ferrules which were contained in the spare parts kit. If you don't have same I can easily send.
Skål,

Eric S.
http://users.rcn.com/erics/
E-mail: erics at erols dot com

simonp123

Postby simonp123 » Nov 26, 2014, 2:00 pm

HB wrote:I used the recommended settings as indicated in the updated PDF (E1 = 14°C).



That gave you a good correlation between the temperature you set on the PID and the shot temperatures which you measured then?

simonp123

Postby simonp123 » Nov 26, 2014, 2:02 pm

erics wrote:If you do so, please follow the reinstallation instructions in the manual . . . preferably using a new copper washer and new ferrules which were contained in the spare parts kit. If you don't have same I can easily send.


I believe you sent spares of these in the original kit? If so then I should still have them. Sending small bits to the UK would probably be silly money I suspect...

User avatar
HB
Admin

Postby HB » Nov 26, 2014, 3:27 pm

simonp123 wrote:That gave you a good correlation between the temperature you set on the PID and the shot temperatures which you measured then?

Yes.
Dan Kehn

simonp123

Postby simonp123 » replying to HB » Nov 26, 2014, 7:02 pm

Cool, thanks. At least I have a reference point to start from and can tweak to taste from there. Looks like Profitec did their homework quite well then.

jonr

Postby jonr » Dec 02, 2014, 11:27 pm

I would differentiate between temperature reproducibility between shots and temperature reproducibility when exposed to different room temperatures or air movement.

User avatar
HB
Admin

Postby HB » Jan 11, 2015, 12:06 pm

Bob_McBob wrote:Did you have a chance to test the steaming performance with other tips?

HB wrote:I tested the optional tip with 2 larger holes and included comments in the review ... I will ask Profitec if they offer 3 or 4 hole tips for the Pro 700 and can provide one for comparison.

Apologies for the delayed response! Profitec provided a 4 hole tip for evaluation and I gotta say, it's a welcome improvement for larger milk drinks.

Yesterday I catered another "cars & coffee" event with the Pro 700, this time using the optional 4 hole tip. There were around 80 people in attendance and I finished 3 pounds of coffee in a little over two hours. Yikes, that was a lot of drinks, I lost count! As noted in the review, the stock 2 hole tip is slow and easy. The optional 4 hole tip is much more to my liking, cutting steam time in half and dramatically improving the rolling action. If you're steaming small amounts of milk (say 4 ounces), the stock tip is perfectly fine. But if you steam 6-8 ounces, I believe the optional 4 hole tip is a must-have.

UPDATE: Follow-on questions not specific to this review split to Profitec Pro 700 questions and Notes on Profitec Pro 700 use and Profitec Pro 700 is a dream.
Dan Kehn

jang

Postby jang » Jun 21, 2015, 4:40 pm

Dan:
Let me tell you that your statements about the quality of shots and ease of use of the P700 are totally correct. Good machine! (although it's less than a week old now)
I am still amazed to see what an E61 machine can produce in terms of quality shots - still disappointed, though, that I could not duplicate that quality with my old QM67. I think it's time to part ways...

On another note:
The Pro 700 came with a four hole steam wand tip. Your other complaint (that the track on which the drip tray rides does not have a reinforcement) has been taken care of as well (production date of my machine April 2015).
Best
Jan