Grimac Mia - A Pro's Perspective

Behind the scenes of the site's upcoming equipment reviews.
malachi

#1: Post by malachi »

Coming soon is the first of the Pro's Perspective series of reviews.

As some of you know - I'm a professional barista and Dan has asked me to do a series of reviews of home espresso equipment - from a pro's point of view. This is an interesting challenge for me - I've never actually worked with a home machine before the last couple months when I played around with a La Pavoni Lever machine. So this is all a first for me.

As some background - while I know a lot about the technology of espresso machines, fundamentally I'm all about the taste of the coffee in the cup. And that is the perspective I'll be bringing to my reviews.

As I go along I'm going to post up little reports and teasers before we get to the actual review. And this, well... this is the first such teaser.

Today I drove up to Olympia, WA to the world headquarters of the mighty Espresso Parts NW to pick up the . When I got there I found that Terry had a surprise in store for me. Not only was there a Grimac Mia waiting for me... there was also an Astoria Compact CKXE machine. I think that when it came right down to it, Terry was a little nervous about my going from working on custom Mistral machines to the little Mia and wanted me to have a little more perspective. Regardless of the motivation, I was pretty excited to have a couple nice machines to play with (grin).

On the left... the Astoria. On the right... the Grimac.

This review is going to focus on the Grimac and will pretty much mention the Astoria as a benchmark of comparison for the Grimac.

First impressions...