Favorite Espresso Blends 2011 - Page 2

Behind the scenes of the site's upcoming equipment reviews.
Marc

#11: Post by Marc » May 09, 2011, 12:49 pm

Redline is probably the most forgiving blend I know. Good in a large range of dose (except very high..) and if your temperature isn't too high it will give you good shots.
Nice balance, not challenging (my guess is colombian and brazil and there's probably a third one).

User avatar
TrlstanC

#12: Post by TrlstanC » May 09, 2011, 3:13 pm

I had tried Red Line awhile ago using my Gaggia (before it was PID'd) and I couldn't get it to work for me, probably because it was so hard to keep the temp down on that little thing. I remember my best shot at keeping things from getting bitter was to overdose and cut the short very short.

User avatar
Chert
Supporter ♡

#13: Post by Chert » May 09, 2011, 7:01 pm

Any comments about Metropolis Redline experience from LMWDPlotters?

I had a bag in June of 2010 and I am tempted to order one after reading the reviews, but unless that is a picture of an MCAL in HB's review, none of the reviews are based on a lever machine.

I recall having difficulty making great shots from the bag I had and the one I had in a cafe in Oak Park, IL was a bit too hot.

User avatar
HB
Admin

#14: Post by HB » May 10, 2011, 8:08 am

I pulled several espressos on the Elektra Microcasa a Leva. Temperature was not a problem using the cold portafilter and sponge technique:

Image

If left idle, the grouphead will no longer function as a heatsink and the brew temperature will be too high. To draw down the grouphead temperature, I first lock in a cold portafilter. It will be hot in a minute or so; next, I hold a wet sponge against the grouphead. When the heat coming through the sponge is uncomfortably hot, it's time to lock in the portafilter and pull.

Brew parameters: 12 grams, 4 seconds preinfusion, 16.5 grams beverage (73% ratio), approx. 30 second extraction. I wanted to emphasize chocolates for a macchiato, so I skipped the Fellini Move. Often the Microcasa reveals flavors that are difficult to discern when using a pump-driven espresso machines, I presume because of its declining brew pressure profile and spiked temperature profile. In Redline's case, the result this morning was a mellower version of Friday's espressos; think a milk chocolate drink instead of chocolate nut bar made with 60% cocoa.
Dan Kehn

User avatar
malachi

#15: Post by malachi » May 13, 2011, 7:25 pm

No questions for the panel?
"Taste is the only morality." -- John Ruskin

User avatar
sweaner
Supporter ♡

#16: Post by sweaner » May 13, 2011, 8:47 pm

I have no questions yet. I am trying to follow along, and opened my bag of Red Line yesterday. I too have found that the lower temps seem better. I just pulled a nice shot, 23 gram triple, 199, 29 grams espresso.
Scott
LMWDP #248

sutono

#17: Post by sutono » May 14, 2011, 9:54 am

The blend is composed of a Brazil full natural, a natural Ethiopian coffee (currently a grade 3 Lekempti), and a fully washed El Salvador. The Brazil and the Ethiopian coffee are ever-present (similar coffees, but the actual mark/region will vary a little depending on availability), but the bridge coffee will change from time to time between Central and South America (fyi)

Thanks for the reviews. They help us get better and it is nice to know that someone is paying attention!
Tony Dreyfuss
Metropolis Coffee Company
www.metropoliscoffee.com

User avatar
another_jim
Team HB

#18: Post by another_jim » May 14, 2011, 5:48 pm

sutono wrote:The blend is composed of a Brazil full natural, a natural Ethiopian coffee (currently a grade 3 Lekempti), and a fully washed El Salvador. The Brazil and the Ethiopian coffee are ever-present (similar coffees, but the actual mark/region will vary a little depending on availability), but the bridge coffee will change from time to time between Central and South America (fyi)
Shows how hard it is to identify the constituents of blends (at least for me). Even knowing that there's an Ethiopian in there, I can't taste it; it's still all nuts and cherries on my palate. Thanks for the info.
Jim Schulman

one lump or two?

#19: Post by one lump or two? » May 15, 2011, 12:41 am

malachi wrote:No questions for the panel?
Chris,

You sometimes provide slight time variations in your suggested brew parameters. Do your shot times begin with the first sight of espresso from the bottom of the basket?

Thanks to John for providing this info. I find it helpful. It would be great if everyone indicates what their general timing method is.

Thanks,

Michael
wabi sabi - nothing lasts, nothing is finished, and nothing is perfect

User avatar
malachi

#20: Post by malachi » May 16, 2011, 8:08 am

My timing is per the standard (starts when you turn on the pump or pre-infusion depending on your machine).
"Taste is the only morality." -- John Ruskin