Comments on Niche Zero Review - Page 4

Behind the scenes of the site's upcoming equipment reviews.
User avatar
jchung
Supporter ♡

Postby jchung » Mar 12, 2019, 6:52 pm

another_jim wrote:I just replicated chaff sticking to the rim of the cup and the chute. But only since I started doing French Press coarse grind settings. For me, the chaff gets chewed up in the burrs at finer settings.


Granted... most of us here are concerned with its performance grinding for Espresso... but Niche Coffee bills it as a grinder for almost all types of coffee. I myself use it for espresso and for pour overs. Static at coarser settings would still be an annoyance. I'm testing without RDT a bit more now that the weather is better. I'm getting a bit less static now, but you can see I still have it. Both with the cup and grinding directly into the PF.

User avatar
another_jim
Team HB

Postby another_jim » Mar 12, 2019, 8:15 pm

jchung wrote:...but Niche Coffee bills it as a grinder for almost all types of coffee. I myself use it for espresso and for pour overs. Static at coarser settings would still be an annoyance.


Every grinder on the market is a static monster for some; every grinder on the market has absolutely no static problem for others. I wish I knew how grinders and counter tops conspire to produce this result. But chaff is far more static prone than the coffee itself; and chaff ought to be removed by the roaster. If you buy from sloppy roasters, you can also remove it yourself with a fan and colander. This takes about 2 minutes for a pound of coffee, so maybe faster than messing with it every time you grind.
Jim Schulman

HH

Postby HH » Mar 12, 2019, 9:02 pm

samuellaw178 wrote:That's interesting! Even with the most static prone bean I have at the moment, the static was no where close to what you're getting. :lol: Is that specific to certain beans? Or does it happen across the board?

How much retention do you get when that happens? I think this can be an important consideration to be included in the review.

This is about the worst I get (may be a little bit more with second-crack roast). With the Ethiopians/medium roasts that I generally drink, there's almost no sign of static on the chute.
<image>


I'm having a similar experience to Sam on this one. Almost zero static on the chute, and an immeasurable amount in the grind cup. It really is next to nothing and this is consistent across several different roasters and different types of beans.

TheN5OfOntario

Postby TheN5OfOntario » Mar 13, 2019, 9:25 pm

I told someone I'd post numbers, so here I am!

Recieved my Niche Zero this afternoon. After calibrating it I tried an 18g dose at grind setting 10. Choked my Silvia. Tried 15, still choked my Silvia. Third try at 20, and I got 33.3g from a 17.8g dose, TDS 10.79 (unfiltered, Misco brix refractometer at brix*0.85) for EY of 21.14%. I didn't drink the shot because I'd be up all night, but a small sip revealed med-bright acidity, but no sourness and relatively high strength without bitterness. (Pilot Coffee Roasters Heritage blend roasted Mar 7th)

The grinds were visually much more uniform than the grinds from my Baratza Vario.

I'll pull a shot tomorrow, grab the numbers again and drink the shot this time!

User avatar
jchung
Supporter ♡

Postby jchung » Mar 13, 2019, 9:45 pm

another_jim wrote:Every grinder on the market is a static monster for some; every grinder on the market has absolutely no static problem for others. I wish I knew how grinders and counter tops conspire to produce this result. But chaff is far more static prone than the coffee itself; and chaff ought to be removed by the roaster. If you buy from sloppy roasters, you can also remove it yourself with a fan and colander. This takes about 2 minutes for a pound of coffee, so maybe faster than messing with it every time you grind.


I'll give the colander and fan a try. How should the fan be positioned relative to the colander? And I'm assuming I should give the beans a repeated toss in the colander?

Thanks!

User avatar
another_jim
Team HB

Postby another_jim » Mar 13, 2019, 9:56 pm

Put the colander so the fan blows through the bottom or side. The chaff will fly off in the opposite direction. I vacuum after roasting and doing this; dechaffing outdoors is better.

I did a cupping today comparing the Vario with the Niche. Both had clinging chaff on one coffee, and neither had problems of the two others. If this holds up, then static problems may be more coffee than grinder related.
Jim Schulman

jasonmolinari

Postby jasonmolinari » Mar 14, 2019, 7:18 pm

Love the side by side cupping video! Also makes me more ok bringing my Vario w/ steel to work and keeping Niche at home for espresso and occasional pourover.

martianpc

Postby martianpc » Mar 17, 2019, 5:50 pm

I would love to hear thoughts comparing the Niche to the Eureka Mignon Speciallita. I have a Sette 270 now and intend to upgrade but I am having a hard time deciding which direction.

User avatar
another_jim
Team HB

Postby another_jim » Mar 17, 2019, 7:15 pm

??? One's single dosing and one isn't. There's nothing to think about; you either want to single does or not
Jim Schulman

User avatar
Jake_G
Team HB

Postby Jake_G » Mar 17, 2019, 7:41 pm

Now, now Jim,

You and I and countless others have spent lots of time single-dosing grinders that are in no way designed for it.

My take on this request is that one is conical and one is flat... or, one has genuine Mazzer Kony burrs in it and one has pedestrian 55mm flat burrs. In my mind the Mignon is miles behind in this playing field and its ability or lack thereof to single dose hasn't even entered the picture. That said, I've never tasted espresso prepared with either, and it's not "fair" to trash the Mignon based solely on burr size and other specs. Even so, I wouldn't expect this to be a very interesting comparison but I always like surprise outcomes...

Cheers!

- Jake