Comments on Decent Espresso DE1+ Review - Page 4

Behind the scenes of the site's upcoming equipment reviews.
User avatar
cafemolino

Postby cafemolino » Mar 27, 2019, 3:12 pm

RapidCoffee wrote:The DE1 resembles the Cremina in compact size, but not much else. I'm not aware of anything comparable to the DE1 at this time.

But future machines may be referred to as next-gen DE1's. There's far too much compelling technology introduced by the DE1, for it to go unnoticed by the major espresso machine manufacturers.



In 1967 Cremina was revolutionary and still produces one of the best coffees, the Decent is revolutionary now and will stay maybe also 50 or more years. Cremina = mechanical, Decent technical - result coffee

bacampbe

Postby bacampbe » May 02, 2019, 1:02 am

I'm curious, was your review model a DE1+ or a DE1PRO? It looks like you had the mirrored front panel, and I'm being told by DE that that is only available with the DE1PRO. Whichever it was, do you expect any material performance difference between the two, other than duty cycle?

drown

Postby drown » May 02, 2019, 1:38 am

cafemolino wrote:.... and will stay maybe also 50 or more years.


:roll:
Geography is War

User avatar
rimblas
Supporter ♡

Postby rimblas » May 02, 2019, 8:04 am

bacampbe wrote:I'm curious, was your review model a DE1+ or a DE1PRO? It looks like you had the mirrored front panel, and I'm being told by DE that that is only available with the DE1PRO. Whichever it was, do you expect any material performance difference between the two, other than duty cycle?


There' no capability difference between the two.

User avatar
arcus

Postby arcus » May 02, 2019, 8:07 am

cafemolino wrote:sad really sad, Acaia could make better, if I get a decent sooner or later for sure, but what I do with the lunar? would be nice to share the lunar with the cremina SEP and decent


FYI, LWW is working on a compact modern espresso machine with help from Acaia. I'm sure this is just one of the many new wave of machines that will come to market thanks to Decent.

Mrboots2u

Postby Mrboots2u » replying to arcus » May 02, 2019, 10:56 am

That's unlikely to be at a accessible home market price.

User avatar
arcus

Postby arcus » replying to Mrboots2u » May 02, 2019, 11:14 am

Many would say the DE1 isn't accessible either so it's all relative but for sure I would think it would be targeted at commercial and higher-end home users that would be looking at Slayer, LM, KvdW, etc. Having said that, I'm excited to see what that combo manufactures and I'm hoping that other manufacturers are paying close attention to Decent.

User avatar
RapidCoffee
Team HB

Postby RapidCoffee » May 02, 2019, 11:51 am

bacampbe wrote:I'm curious, was your review model a DE1+ or a DE1PRO? It looks like you had the mirrored front panel, and I'm being told by DE that that is only available with the DE1PRO. Whichever it was, do you expect any material performance difference between the two, other than duty cycle?

I have confirmed with John Buckman that the review model was a DE1+ (SN 190). The early run of machines apparently had the mirrored front panel. As noted in the review, the main difference between these models is warranty (20X longer for the DE1PRO). I doubt you could distinguish them in the cup.
John

User avatar
luca
Team HB

Postby luca » May 07, 2019, 8:15 am

Hi John,

Nice work on the review.

I got to demo the DE1+ at MICE this year; really just to satisfy my own curiosity. I decided to buy one because I found that the feedback from the graphs enabled me to really easily improve my puck prep. I also found that I could repeatably predict how a shot would taste based on the graphs, when using Rao's blooming espresso profile, at least. This is functionality that is pretty unique and I think that it might help prospective buyers if you could add to the review some graphs and explanations about what can be deduced or predicted from them.

Cheers,
Luca
LMWDP #034 | 2011: Q Grader Exam, Brewer's Cup #3, Australian Cup Tasting #1

User avatar
RapidCoffee
Team HB

Postby RapidCoffee » May 07, 2019, 10:26 am

luca wrote:I got to demo the DE1+ at MICE this year; really just to satisfy my own curiosity. I decided to buy one because I found that the feedback from the graphs enabled me to really easily improve my puck prep. I also found that I could repeatably predict how a shot would taste based on the graphs, when using Rao's blooming espresso profile, at least. This is functionality that is pretty unique and I think that it might help prospective buyers if you could add to the review some graphs and explanations about what can be deduced or predicted from them.

Hi Luca. I agree: analysis of the DE1 extraction graphs provides useful feedback for tweaking subsequent shots. The "problem" is, there's so much that can be done with this machine, it's hard to know what to present first. The review was already getting long, but I tried to give an example of this in a follow-up thread.

Here's another example (using Damian's DSV2 skin, with its history viewer):
Image
On the left is an advanced Londinium emulation profile: preinfuse at 8 ml/s, low pressure hold at 3 bar, rise and hold at 9 bar, decline to 3 bar. I did not care for the initial low pressure hold (followed by a flow spike), so I created an advance spring lever profile, shown on the right: preinfuse at 6 ml/s, rise and (short) hold at 9 bar, decline to 3 bar, then maintain pressure at 3 bar while keeping flow under 1.5 ml/s. For DE1 owners, there is more discussion of these profiles on the Decent Diaspora forum.

Congrats on your new machine! I'm sure you'll have a lot of fun with it.
John