Vintage La Pavoni Pub 1v

Equipment doesn't work? Troubleshooting? If you're handy, members can help.
RunningOnFumes

#1: Post by RunningOnFumes »

Hi everyone,

I recently bought what I assume is an older La Pavoni Commercial Pub 1v. It came with a matching Zip grinder. Grinder works perfectly, very sharp burrs. Also a flojet, a motor, and what looks like an additional water catch attachment. I'm brand new to the scene, so you'll just have to bear with me here.

Everything seems to work fine, except I can't get a shot of espresso. Not a single drop. The boiler turns on and heats up fairly quickly. The steam wands/hot water work exceptionally well. The individual buttons aren't programmed yet, but they are all responsive. The motor automatically kicks on when I press any of them. A nice wave of steam is emitted from the group head too. But when I try to draw a shot, the pressure gauge reads low. Only one bar on the top, maybe 5 on the bottom.

I'm new to espresso machines, but I'm mechanically inclined. I've built computers and worked on bicycles and stuff of that nature. I'd like to use this machine on a daily basis, mod it a little, and ensure it has the longest, healthiest life it can possibly have.

So veterans, what should I do from the very start? I'm thinking about spending a couple weekends totally breaking it down and doing a complete restoration, cleaning out the gunk, re greasing, buffing, etc.

And where should I start with trouble shooting the group-head, pump/pressure?

I'll add pictures, and a video soon. The boiler is still heating up.

Advertisement
RunningOnFumes (original poster)

#2: Post by RunningOnFumes (original poster) »

Here's the video showcasing the functionality of the machine, (or lack thereof).

wsfarrell

#3: Post by wsfarrell »