Spong 3 Restoration!

Equipment doesn't work? Troubleshooting? If you're handy, members can help.
coffeenaut

#1: Post by coffeenaut »

Hello!

Part way through a Spong 3 project. Inspired by the 23rd Century thread! :-)

I originally intended to make a step by step photo journey to show my work but that didn't work out. Still there should be some useful information.

I'm not an expert at painting or restoration but I think I have some tips that will help you out if you want a food safe coffee grinder finish. For this project I had two aims.

#1 Make the finish as close as possible to the original Spong 3.
#2 Use the paints and oils in such a way that the beans could be ground without potentially introducing toxic substances.

Starting with the photographs of the original condition.

The photographs are from the Ebay listing and didn't show as many traces of rust and damage to the inside of the hopper as there actually was. The condition was still good but photography doesn't pick up everything.

coffeenaut (original poster)

#2: Post by coffeenaut (original poster) »

I was worried about the paint on the original - because I knew lead paint was popular then. The original Spongs were spray painted which would have been a high tech procedure at the time.

I had the Spong 3 sandblasted at a local factory. No picture for that.

Then I sent the hopper to Camcoat - a firm in the UK that does work with ceramic coatings. I love the effect on the hopper - it reminds me of those trumpet lily flowers - it somehow seems natural.

On the advice of a friend I tested the metal itself for Lead with a 3M Leadcheck kit, the test came back negative.

#3: Post by coffeenaut (original poster) »