Software UI mods for Decent Espresso?

Equipment doesn't work? Troubleshooting? If you're handy, members can help.
Aozolins

#1: Post by Aozolins »

I'm curious if anyone has worked on modding the visual design of the decent de1? I'm considering it as a potential machine to upgrade to however one thing holding me back is just how ugly the UI is. I understand there's a large modding community however I haven't seen much information on modding the software design. For context I'm a UX designer myself so I feel comfortable with the visual design aspect but I'm unsure how I easy it would be to get any modified design on machine, I'm assuming I'd need some coding knowledge. Any insight would be super appreciated.

Randy G.

#2: Post by Randy G. »

Get on the Decent forums (https://basecamp.com/) and search there. There have been a lot or work by individuals in that regard.
EspressoMyEspresso.com - 2000-2023 - a good run, its time is done

Advertisement
Jeff
Team HB

#3: Post by Jeff »

There are a few options on the Tcl base that DE supplies. Of those Mimoja Cafe is one I find the most usable. Others like DSx, though I don't think the way that Damian does. Even with Enrique, an individual contributor, and Mimoja, another individual contributor, donating their time and skills to rewriting portions the Tcl-based app (it is NOT an Android app and did not supply any APIs until individual contributors added them), there are significant limitations in the app and in DE's approach to software in general that prevent significant improvements.

You can check out the "stock" UI options by downloading the software from the Decent Espresso site and running it as an emulator on macOS/Windows/Linux.