Should I take on restoration of an Isomac Millennium?

Equipment doesn't work? Troubleshooting? If you're handy, members can help.
mikelipino

#1: Post by mikelipino »

I found a used Isomac Millennium for a DIY restoration price. I'm getting details from the owner to the specs, but it sounds well cared for except for a leak (trying to identify where), a full descale, and a likely breakdown of the valves and E61 to replace seals and gaskets.

I have no prior experience restoring an espresso machine. I am however handy and consider myself a DIYer and a maker. I have a full set of electronic tools (e.g. multimeter, soldering setup, tools to make wires and connectors) and most of the basic builder tools (screwdrivers, wrenches, vices, etc) and a free workbench. I probably don't have specific espresso machine tools like a gauge to test and adjust group pressure, but wouldn't be opposed to getting them if they're not too expensive or specific.

I'd like to keep the budget under $1k, and $300 will be for the unit. If the leak is on the boiler, I think the replacement itself would be $400-500, really eating into the budget. Time isn't a constraint as I'm quite happy with my Cafelat Robot and this project would be a fun way to tinker over the winter.

Some questions for this group:
- Is this project completable by someone like me? I think I have the skill set but that may be naive. There also seem to be videos available on the main systems that I can refer to as well as an exploded parts diagram
- Is it worth cutting my teeth on an Isomac Millennium? I've read here that they were once an internet user darling but have since fallen out of favor. Do they have any design flaws that make even a successful renovation not worth it? Would parts be easy to source?

Thanks in advance for any advice!

harrisonpatm

#2: Post by harrisonpatm »