Rocket Giotto Troubleshooting Noise

Equipment doesn't work? Troubleshooting? If you're handy, members can help.
PeanutBuddha

#1: Post by PeanutBuddha »

Hello everyone,
I am relatively new to the home espresso scene. Not too long ago I took a plunge and invested in a Rocket Giotto Premium Plus with PID. Over the past several weeks I took to learning the basics. Coffee was good. However, recently the machine has begun to make a high pitched vibrating noise when pulling shots. The noise usually occurs around 8 bars of pressure. Although troubling, the noise does not seem to accompany any functionality issues (to my knowledge). The machine still makes great espresso. The new onset of the horrible sound is quite worrisome considering the hefty price tag.

Im not sure where to begin with troubleshooting. I have not seen anything related to this issue in my research. Any advice is more than welcome.

Here are a few videos of the noise. One pulling a standard shot, and another with a blind basket / back-flush. I would like to note that I am exceedingly thorough with keeping the machine clean. I back-flush daily and use machine appropriate detergent on a weekly/biweekly basis. I also only use filtered tap water and utilize the Rocket water reservoir filter to avoid scale buildup.

Thanks everyone for your input!

F1

#2: Post by F1 »

I have a Rocket Giotto V2 and I have experienced that very same sound at least twice in 4 years. A new pump has always been the answer to eliminating the issue. Like you, even though I had that annoying sound the machine would work perfectly. I am pretty sure the machine would have continued working fine with the pump that was causing the sound, but since the ULKA pumps are so cheap I just replaced it. I'd suggest you get a new pump even if you keep using the old one. In the event that the original pump dies then you have a spare.

PeanutBuddha

#3: Post by PeanutBuddha »

Peculiar.