Rocket Appartamento High Brew Pressure >14 Bar

Equipment doesn't work? Troubleshooting? If you're handy, members can help.
Csarman

#1: Post by Csarman »

Hello,
I've been using my Rocket Appartamento daily almost for 2 years and I recently added a Flow Control unit by ECM.
Prior to installing the flow control unit itself, I installed the brew pressure gauge and tried to understand how the brew pressure was set on the machine.

Even though the boiler pressure gauge is at 1-1.1 Bar, the newly installed brew pressure gauge spikes up to 14 bar during any extraction, even during routine backflush cycles.

my understanding is that the "ideal" brew pressure should be around 10 bar...
I've been doing a lot of research on this but since I'm pretty new how internals work, I'm really confused identifying the underlying factor...
I assume it's related to the over pressure valve. I checked the internal diagrams of the appartamento but there is nothing related to OPV. Expansion valve maybe?
Could you kindly help me identify the issue?
Thanks
Can

HB
Admin

#2: Post by HB »

Where is the brew pressure being measured? If the gauge is teed into the E61 grouphead, then it's accurately reporting the actual brew chamber pressure. If it's teed into the hydraulics system before the flow control valve, it will show the pump output. Either way, you should adjust the pressure down to maximum you will ever brew at like 12 bar. According to this parts diagram (wholelattelove.com), the expansion valve is #14:

See How can I adjust the brew pressure of a vibe pump espresso machine? if you need a refresher. Don't worry about OPV versus expansion valve -- it's essentially two names for the same part.
Dan Kehn

Csarman (original poster)

#3: Post by Csarman (original poster) »

Thank you Dan
I finally set the OPV to 10bar.
Thanks again
Can

ziorzis

#4: Post by ziorzis »

Hi Can,