Rebuilding 1988 Astoria 2 Group Lever

Equipment doesn't work? Troubleshooting? If you're handy, members can help.
Clint Orchuk

#1: Post by Clint Orchuk »

Hi Everyone,

My name's Clint. I've already asked a few questions on this site but thought I'd start a new thread regarding the machine I'm rebuilding. It was bought new and used in a cafe for three years. After that it was stored for 18 years before I bought it. I'm really new to espresso machines. I've always loved coffee, and been really curious about the machines, but never owned one and have never been a barista. The machine is in great shape. All of the gaskets and seals are petrified though. I've ordered a bunch of parts from EPNW, but I'm sure I've forgotten a bunch of things.

I plan to use it at the local farmer's markets. I've been given permission to set up an espresso bar. I have a gas kit on the way from Astoria. Doug from Orphan Espresso said it should bolt right on.

Right now the machine is completely disassembled. Most of it has been cleaned using TSP or oxalic acid. The boiler and the copper pipes are still soaking in oxalic acid. I've learned a lot from searching around the forums and have been able to answer a lot of my questions that way. I still have a million questions but I'll just ask one now.

On the group head is a something called a retention valve. It has an adjustment screw in it and a ball bearing underneath it. The screws were frozen but I got one of them out with an impact driver. The other screw broke in half inside the valve. I've ordered a couple of screws but the valve itself doesn't seem to be available. What does the valve do, and what's the best way to get the broken screw out?

TIA. Clint

kitt

#2: Post by kitt »