Reanimating espresso machine that has been in storage

Equipment doesn't work? Troubleshooting? If you're handy, members can help.
jimocallaghan

#1: Post by jimocallaghan »

Hello,

First time poster on the forum, greetings from rainy Ireland. Seeing a lot of really interesting posts here and have a lot of reading to do, so thanks in advance for the great treasure trove of detail the forum members have already put together.

I'm hoping to get a steer to some relevant posts / advice relating to making an old machine safe for use - specifically around health & safety aspects. I'm handy enough with mechanics / electronics, but have recently come into possession of a 2 Group Sanremo Capri that had been in storage (almost fully drained, but not quite) for an indeterminate time after a cafe closure, the sale of said machine coincided with my old bean-to-cup Saeco machine packing it in.

I've no previous experience with espresso machines so apologies in advance if the Q seems very basic. The chassis shows some obvious signs of age, some rust which I'm cleaning out and applying some preventative coating to, the group heads look like they've never been cleaned, so I've also picked up some cafiza to backflush and clean. Now to get to the Q - having not used a plumbed-in machine before, I'm curious as to whether I should run some kind of detergent / cleaner through the tank to clean it out / maybe descale before first use, and the approach (fill normally with water, then switch supply to detergent added water source briefly and run through machine for a bit?). I want to ensure there's nothing that could make someone ill / bacteria etc. (or even worse, make the coffee not taste good!) in the tank.

I may have bitten off a little more than I expected as the more I dig into this area the more I realise I don't know, but I'm hoping to get some decent home coffee at some stage over the rainbow.

Many thanks,
Jim.

ira
Team HB

#2: Post by ira »