Rancilio S27 - Restoration?

Equipment doesn't work? Troubleshooting? If you're handy, members can help.
jgrosjean

#1: Post by jgrosjean »

I just got a Rancilio S27 as initially described in this post:

- How much would you pay for two Rancilio S27's plus MD50 grinder

Important machine datapoints are:

1. Purchased around year 2000
2. Seller says "Carefully maintained, lightly used"
3. "Working when put into storage 10 years ago" after restaurant decided to stop selling espresso

I've attached photos. I'm new to espresso machines, and appliances in general, please tell me anything of note that you see.

It looked like a horror to me last night when I brought it home and opened it up. I hope I was mistaken. It's looking a bit better to me now that I've learned a bit more and can name some parts. But there's quite a bit of rust on many of the electrical connections (such as capacitor in top view photo) that I don't know what to make of. Plus some fraying of the fabric around some wire ends. Also it seems there must be flakes of paint and rust fallen down into the motor, not sure if that would be an issue or not.

From what you see does it make sense to attach water, plug in, and see if it turns on? Or should it really be restored and checked from the ground up first? I do plan to restore from ground up (with help of someone who actually knows electronics), I'm just wondering if it would hurt anything to give it a try first.

Thanks,
Jesse

MNate

#2: Post by MNate »

Yeah, you might learn something from plugging it into water and electricity and see what turns on. I doubt I'd jump to making an espresso though even if everything was in order. I'd want to give all the water lines a good soak in citric acid solution first. There's bound to be gunk after 10 years of sitting that I wouldn't want to pass along the line.

But nice! It actually doesn't look as bad as at first glance!

jgrosjean

#3: Post by jgrosjean »

Plugged in, here's what I found: