Rancilio S20 MIDI DE restoration questions

Equipment doesn't work? Troubleshooting? If you're handy, members can help.
Larsen2000

#1: Post by Larsen2000 »

Hi!
I just bought an old machine by chance. I have just had a toy machine before (super giada) so this is my first decent(i hope) machine. I don't know so much about espresso machines, but i am an engineer and the mechanics seems pretty simple so i guess i can learn. Plan was to wipe it off and descale by backflushing. Yesterday evening i was plugging it in my garage to do a test but it ended up with a complete disassembly. And now i have sent the panels and frame for powder coat.

On the top side of the heat exchanger, when i loosend the big tubes to the groupsets i found some washers that that i cant find in the drawings exploded views. The washers have small holes so i guess they are for flow restriction.
Should i have them there? could it be a modification by previous owner? Anybody seen this before?

The washers are on the close up picture on the boiler attached. i have taken them out from the coupling and put them on top of the coupling for a better view.

Thanks in advance!
/Andreas

Jake_G
Team HB

#2: Post by Jake_G »

Welcome Andreas!

Nice find on the machine. I have an S20 MIDI CD (manual version of your DE) and I love it.

As for the washers, you are correct that they are flow restrictors. My machine did not/does not have flow restrictors, but they can be a good thing. They are there to temper the idle temperature of the groups by limiting the convection flow through the thermosyphon tubes. Only way to tell if you need them is to pull shots on the machine with and without and figure out if the groups are too hot without or too cold with. Both conditions can be easily addressed with an appropriate flushing regiment, so the winner is the setup that gives you the right temperature with the least amount of fuss.