Quick Mill Alexia Evo PID temperature setting problem

Equipment doesn't work? Troubleshooting? If you're handy, members can help.
Jonskiles

#1: Post by Jonskiles »

I bought a Quick Mill Alexia EVO on this site about a month ago. The PID seemed to be working fine until yesterday. The temperature will go up to 280 as if set to steam milk and then slowly fall down to the low 200's. It never gets down to the set temperature of 200. It will then go back up to around 280. This process simply cycles over and over. I have checked to make sure I didn't have the steam switch on (did that once). Any idea what might be going on? I have zero experience working on espresso machines. Thanks.

cafeIKE

#2: Post by cafeIKE »

Anytime the machine is plugged in with the cover off, KEEP ONE HAND IN YOUR POCKET

DO NOT use the machine if you think the boiler is actually getting to 280°F

Check all electrical connections for integrity and discoloration with the machine unplugged!
Check the PID connections.

If you can determine the PID model, post it.

The thermocouple [TC] could be bad. All manner of weird behaviors are often fixed with a new TC.
TC can go bad if any water leaks into them.

Post some images of the machine internals. [There does not appear to be much online]
  • top of boiler
  • PID
  • all connectors
Ages ago, I had an issue with a Solis SL90 where the thermal grease had dried out and control was all over the map. 5 years ago the TC on my Vibiemme DB went haywire and so did the machine.

JRising
Team HB

#3: Post by JRising »

When the temp goes up to 280, describe what you see...
The PID Display slowly ramps up until it gets to 280F as if the boiler is actually being heated up to that temp?
Or, the PID Display sometimes displays what might be the actual temp, but the numbers keep changing and it is often displaying 280F?