Problem with Rocket Cellini Evoluzione

Equipment doesn't work? Troubleshooting? If you're handy, members can help.
JA

#1: Post by JA »

Hi everybody
I hope someone here can help me get my machine going again.
Its been working fine for five years and suddenly it started letting water out from the pressure release valve when brewing. I replaced the valve and cleaned inspected the grouphead. It helped a but but now I find that the brewing pressure gets too high around 14-15 when pulling a shot.
Normally its steady 8-10. It starts with 8-10 for a few seconds and then jumps up to 14 ! !!!
This scares me. Its like its blocked somewhere ..
The pressure switch seems to work ok but there is two nsf units that seems to control the pressure and some other Electric units. I dont know much about the electrics as Im a model builder.
Could this be the rotary pump failing ? I hope its an easy fix.
Has anybody here had the same thing happen or someone having an idea what has happened ?
Jens Andersen Denmark

homeburrero
Team HB

#2: Post by homeburrero »

JA wrote:it started letting water out from the pressure release valve when brewing. I replaced the valve and cleaned inspected the grouphead. It helped a but but now I find that the brewing pressure gets too high around 14-15 when pulling a shot.
I suspect that you are talking about the expansion/OPV valve here.

If so, I think you may have a rotary pump adjustment that got loose and went way too high and that meant your expansion valve kicked in to limit pressure, then when you replaced with the new valve it was set a little higher. Normally that expansion valve should not open while brewing.

Set your rotary bypass adjustment (see video below) down in the 9 bar neighborhood with a backfush disk in the group. Then you should see the pressure rise to a constant point about 9 bar when pump is on and brewing a shot.