Olympia Express Club rebuild (+ introduction)

Equipment doesn't work? Troubleshooting? If you're handy, members can help.
Sw1ssdude

#1: Post by Sw1ssdude »

Hello,

I'm new to the home-Barista forum, and I'd like to set off my membership with a completed report from a rebuild of a 1969 Olympia Express Club.

I'm also quite new to the art of espresso making. I mean, I did work for a startup in Zürich (Switzerland) which produces really great espresso machines in the midst of the city, where tasting a shot or five a day accounted as 'quality control', not 'coffee break'. But at home I still use a small 'la piccola - piccola'-E.S.E.-pad-machine.

This might be blasphemic, but I don't have the space at the moment to run a machine with a footprint bigger than the average postcard, and pad coffee beats bad coffee, or no coffee at all. I'm a mechanical engineer, and I appreciate a fine crafted, precise operating machine when I see one, so even if I don't use that Olympia at the moment, there are other ways to enjoy a machine as fine as an old Olympia Club. Like just marveling at that design. And I will take care that this machine will be put to use, if not in my kitchen, then in someone else's.

So how did I end up with this machine in the first place?