Looking for repair or restoration source

Equipment doesn't work? Troubleshooting? If you're handy, members can help.
ramassen

#1: Post by ramassen »

I have a 1958 Microcimbali which needs some restoration. The person who left it to me was a mentor who meant a Great Deal to me and I hope to get it working again. I know he took very good care of the things he had. As I understand he always drained it after using. And cosmetically it is in good condition. From the little I can se looking into the boiler I can not see corrosion. I found letters and a variety of parts he purchase from Officine Cimbali Giuseppe S. p.A. back in 1977 in case they were needed. (looks like extra sealing material, a glass window and bolts with nuts) Do you do this or know of anyone that does.

There are two things I notice wrong after not being used for many years.

#1 When I was filling with water the water immediately drips out where the portafilter attaches even before turning on. After heating and trying to make a coffee it did not get better. I do not see any other leaks and it heats fine. I can pull a shot but the dripping is a pain and messy

#2 The electric cord is old and cracked so needs to be replaced.

#3 I also noticed in the brochures he kept that there was an option to hook up to a water supply instead of filling manually where the big black knob on top is. I would like to find this part and learn more it. Does this really works? And I wonder how you could drain it after each using that way if that is important?

Any info or lead is appeciated

ramassen (original poster)

#2: Post by ramassen (original poster) »

I am trying to post a photo of my machine and accessories

http://www.artechweb.com/cimbali.jpg

Tried inserting the location after hitting the image tab but it says does not allow offsight images. Hope someone can tell me what to do, Roy

BaristaBoy E61

#3: Post by BaristaBoy E61 »

Welcome to HB Roy.

Very nice machine, in good condition too.