La Scala Butterfly problem

Equipment doesn't work? Troubleshooting? If you're handy, members can help.
Eat_sleep_ski

#1: Post by Eat_sleep_ski »

Hi Guys.

I've just joined this forum. I'm an engineer but I have never really bothered to learn too much about these machines. I've got a La Scala butterfly E61 and recently while the machine was sitting there late in the morning I heard a loud pop and suddenly a lot of steam started spewing out of the machine.

After turning it off and on again I could see water start to leak through this valve which I've highlighted in the picture. I turned it off again and inspected the valve pin and its totally loose. It feels like the spring may have broken?

In any case. I'm looking for advice on a) what this valve is b) does it sound broken c) any advice on where to find a replacement part?

Thanks a lot!

JRising
Team HB

#2: Post by JRising »

There's no spring in your anti-vacuum valve, there isn't supposed to be. Gravity opens it.
The loud pop was the valve next to it.

Both valves are probably working properly. The anti-vacuum valve maybe hissing a little, you'll want to check it after you fix your over-pressure issue.
It's certainly closing well enough at boiling temp to allow pressure to build.

Your over-pressure issue is what caused the safety to relieve, if it's working properly that's what it does. You'll have to see why the machine is overheating/pressuring.

When you say you see "water coming out of the anti-vacuum valve", is it just little splashes of water as if water is boiling 4 inches below the valve and some little droplets "splurt" through, or does it appear the boiler might be filled right up to the valve and any expansion is going to run out there as it overflows?
Was the pump running when the safety valve went pop?
Did you notice what pressure the boiler was at when it happened? if your machine has a boiler gauge.