La Cimbali Junior S/1 circa 2000 restoration

Equipment doesn't work? Troubleshooting? If you're handy, members can help.
espress_o

#1: Post by espress_o »

Hi HB'ers,

I got my hands on 2 Cimbali S/1's made in 2000.

Here is what I was told when I bought them:

-They both came off of a yacht 10 years ago
-Both have been sitting in storage since
-Both were pulled because they were being replaced with a more commercial automatic machine

What I could see on the outside; on both machines the water and steam knobs had cracks, one of the S/1's had a cracked foot and was a bit bent from the bottom base; I imagine since they were on a boat, they may have taken a fall or been banged around. They both used an Italian/European 220v plug.

I apologize for not taking pictures of the machines as I got them, I didn't think to post about the restoration until the panels were off and most of the plumbing was dismantled.

I've worked on one machine so far, the other is starting to take its citric acid bath. I ordered all new gaskets, o-rings, springs, etc for both machines from cafeparts. I ordered a stock foot for the badly cracked foot on the first machine, also from cafeparts, I have yet to order the steam & water knobs, but will order them soon.

The first machine was stripped to the frame and brought to a sandblaster & powder coating shop. The panels were taken to a metal fabricator who sanded/polished the brushed SS.

I feel like I may have overpaid a bit on both of those services. For the 2nd machine, I found another sandblast / powder coating shop who quoted me about $40 less than what I paid the first shop (although I am happy with the outcome). I may try my hand at polishing up the panels on the second machine and save a few bucks there too.

Here is the breakdown of the costs so far (not including the cost of the machines):

Cafeparts - all parts for both machines - $170
1 machine Sandblaster & Powder Coat - $130
1 machines panels - Metal Fabricator - $125

Total = $425