La Cimbali Junior D/1 overheating/overpressure

Equipment doesn't work? Troubleshooting? If you're handy, members can help.
BarcaBere

Postby BarcaBere » May 05, 2018, 5:47 am

Hello all

A friend of mine has been using an older (he says 90's) model Cimbali Junior D/1 for a long time and never has had any problems. Recently however, the device overheats and over-pressurises. While the normal operating pressure used to be around 1 bar, the device now sometimes pressures up to the maximum the pressure gauge at the front of the machine can indicate. The water is also way too hot, even at 'lower' pressures, really burning the coffee.

I've not seen the safety valve open yet, but it has been replaced last year and works if we manually press it open, so at least the boiler will not crack (or worse). For now I've advised him to turn the device off when it starts over-pressurising.

He's asked me (an electrical engineer by profession) to have a look at it. My guess is that the heating element just keeps on heating the boiler. From looking at the electrical wiring diagram this would mean that at least two sensors are broken: the pressure gauge ('pressostat') and the safety thermostat.

Replacing the safety thermostat seems to be easy, apparently it's just screwed into contact with the boiler/heating element, and not actually inside the boiler. It's also not that expensive. It's the pressostat that worries me more. I'm always wary about touching the pressured sections :P . I probably should replace the whole thing I assume, and also the nut and washer below? Any other things I should pay attention of?

The resistance of the heating element measures in at around 40 Ohm, which checks out with a 1300W rating. The rest of the machine still looks alright, although it wouldn't hurt replacing some wiring around the boiler section (I probably will do that too).