Elektra Microcasa a Leva (1980) Repairs

Equipment doesn't work? Troubleshooting? If you're handy, members can help.
BrendanB

#1: Post by BrendanB »

Hi Everyone, I live in Rome & bought a second hand MCal machine. I was wondering if anyone had any advice on how to approach repairing it as I'm a total newbie, other than some stuff I have read on this forum. The only problem I can discern so far is that there appears to be a leakage which looks like it is from one of the inputs to the heating element there is quite a bit corrosion. The machine heats up fine and shuts off at max pressure but there is quite a bit of water leaking out. I presume I should first break down and replace the o rings and gaskets, any advice on how I should approach getting it up and running would be greatly appreciated!! I also added a couple of photos. Thanks! :?

Sw1ssdude

#2: Post by Sw1ssdude »

Cool machine!

To be honest, i have no idea about this midel, but i saw a lot if coverage about it in the forum.

How i see it:
It has only a few features, which is good, so not too much can break.
I would:
Disassemble it
Descale it
Clean/polish it
Reassemble it
Hunt down all leaks from reassembling
Be done, or, fix the leaks
Reward yourself with coffee

For heating elements, you usually can counter them from the inside to tighten the seal. Which usually means to take out the heating element. Which means to take the whole machine apart. Which means to best replace all the gaskets.

But don't be discouraged, this shouldnt be too complicated, and eventually rewards you with a functioning machine, and every coffee you make will be underlayed with the thought of 'i did it'!

As i said, i dont know the elektra, but i once did a pavoni, which is similar, apart from having no spring in the group. But i can give some tipps:

Unplug it, before you tinker on it.