ECM Synchronika Plumbed Pump Pressure Issue

Equipment doesn't work? Troubleshooting? If you're handy, members can help.
N1trogen

#1: Post by N1trogen »

I am very new to home espresso, having jumped from a pourover Chemex straight into a plumbed-in ECM Synchronika this year, so bear with me and my ignorance.

I have a BWT filtration system hooked up with an inline regulator which has been set to 2 bars (30 psi) of pressure with the machine off and pump lever disengaged. However, when I engage the pump lever while the machine is still off, it reduces the inline pressure to about 1.5 bars (~22 psi).

First off, is this normal? I would have thought from my limited knowledge that the inline pressure indicated on the regulator would stay constant.

Secondly, when I turn the machine on and it's heating up while idle, the pressure reading rises again, to about 35 psi.

I am concerned because the Synchronika manual mentions that operating pressure should not exceed 2 bars, but mine is sitting idle at around 35 psi while the machine is on, and then drops to around 25 psi when I put the lever to the 45 degree position.

I have tried using the regulator to reduce the inline pressure, but then it seems like not enough water is going to the machine to refill the boilers as they are depleted, because the pressure drops to 0 when the brew lever is engaged, and then slowly comes back up to ~1.5 bars when the lever is disengaged.

Any thoughts?

I very much appreciate any help in advance.

Jeff
Team HB

#2: Post by Jeff »

What diameter piping and how long is the run from the regulator to the machine?

(There are frictional losses with flow)

HB
Admin

#3: Post by HB »

N1trogen wrote:...when I engage the pump lever while the machine is still off, it reduces the inline pressure to about 1.5 bars (~22 psi). First off, is this normal? I would have thought from my limited knowledge that the inline pressure indicated on the regulator would stay constant.