ECM Mechanika VI Slim Brew Pressure Problem

Equipment doesn't work? Troubleshooting? If you're handy, members can help.
tjbarista

#1: Post by tjbarista »

Hi All!

Newcomer but longtime lurker here.

I just bought a brand new ECM Mechanika VI Slim about 10 days ago. This is my first time with an E61 machine so I was still getting used to the gauges (previous machine was a Nuova Simonelli Oscar 2). I guess I was so used to using a machine without a readable gauge so I didn't even notice until recently that during extraction my pressure is really low. It maxes out at about 4-6 bars depending on the coffee used but I've never gotten anything higher than 6 bars when there's coffee in the basket. At first I thought it was a gauge problem but when I ran the pressure with a blind basket it was reading 10 bars which is what it's supposed to be set at from the factory. The weird thing is that I'm getting pretty tasty shots and thats probably why I didn't even notice that the pressure was running low during extraction.