E61 Giotto troubleshooting keeps making it worse

Equipment doesn't work? Troubleshooting? If you're handy, members can help.
decrem

#1: Post by decrem »

Help, I'm stuck.

This is a Rocket Giotto Evoluzione v2 (rotary pump) and I'm using the water reservoir. I'm the second owner (3 years). This past few weeks have been my first times unscrewing pipes from the boiler and changing anything in the grouphead. I'm a newbie to espresso machine repair, but I'm an engineer and I'm generally comfortable making mistakes, which is perhaps a cause of these problems.

TL;DR: Problems
[1] What might this sound be? Video below
[2] What might cause 8 bars of pressure without the portafilter?
[3] If I backflush with a blind filter, the water does not come out of the discharge tube.
[4] the machine takes far too long (3+ hours) to come up to temp. When I flush water through the grouphead once, it comes up to temp quickly

More info:

[1] What might this sound be?
This happens after the hot water is open for a while (or I've emptied the boiler) and the machine begins to fill the boiler again. It does not happen when I run water through the grouphead. (I have not tested in the past 24 hours due to some of the other problems.)
[2] What might cause this high pressure without the portafilter?
- with no portafilter attached, run water through the group, 8 bars of pressure, ~200-205 degrees. (Why is this pressure so high? It was at ~4 bar last week)
- with a tamped 18g basket, run water through the group, it's like normal at 9.5 bars and ~200-205 degrees. Shot tastes great. (Note: i am afraid to test this again due to problem #3)
- with no mushroom in place, and water running through the group, the pressure is 0
- with the mushroom in place, but no preinfusion valve or drain valve, it's still 8 bars of pressure.