Determine if Grouphead Needs Replacing

Equipment doesn't work? Troubleshooting? If you're handy, members can help.
buckersss
Supporter ♡

#1: Post by buckersss »

Hi All,

Im new to machine maintenance. Looking for any help you can offer. I bought a used Promac Club ME machine by Rancilio.

As I have been playing around with it, I realized the grouphead was leaking.

I'm ordering a new grouphead gasket. Don't have it yet. I took the old one off today though - it was pretty caked on. I had to twist some screws into it, and use them as grips to pry it out.

I soaped up the grouphead and scrubbed with some nylon brushes and paper towels.

It's fairly clean now. I was hoping anyone could give me an assessment though. I was concerned about the wear. I expect majority of grouphead are brass. I think this one is coated, perhaps with nickel? Is that a thing? The dispersion head shows the coating is wearing ever so slightly, and it looks like brass underneath.

Anyways, I thought I'd just ask if the attached images showed anything of concern that I may be missing. Thanks for any help you can offer.

Marcelnl
Supporter ♡

#2: Post by Marcelnl »

looks to be OK, it might be missing a shower screen?
LMWDP #483

HB
Admin

#3: Post by HB »

And the dispersion screw. See E61 Group Espresso Machine: Detailed Interior Schematics and countless other diagrams for more details. For example:

From many other threads

From Spare parts to stock for servicing E61 groupheads
Dan Kehn

buckersss (original poster)
Supporter ♡

#4: Post by buckersss (original poster) »

Thanks Dan and Marcel!

Yep I got all of those, the dispersion head, the nut/screw, the screen. Just left them out of the picture. May grab a new screen while I'm at it. I think on the site I was looking at they said 57mm is the right size shower screen for a Rancilio machine?

Randy G.

#5: Post by Randy G. »