Dent on La Pavoni Professional boiler

Equipment doesn't work? Troubleshooting? If you're handy, members can help.
ruhler17

#1: Post by ruhler17 »

Hello,

Do these dents around the pressure safety valve look detrimental enough to warrant punching it out (as I've seen some people do on this forum) or source a new tank? The supposed problem is that the pressure valve fittings won't seal/tighten onto the tank because of them. How would you approach the problem? Thank you in advance!

Optional backstory: I am new to the espresso machine/la Pavoni world and recently purchased a used La Pavoni (what I believe is a Professional model). I took it in to the local espresso machine repair shop for a once over before I began using it, and they said that due to the dent around the safety valve, they could not tighten the valve and therefore the machine will not work. Now, the shop I took it to clearly had a negative bias towards La Pavonis and said some other things that made me question their expertise. The guy I bought it from said he tested it before selling it and had no issues. I don't know who to believe, so I wanted to get more opinions on it before I spend more unexpected money/time on it.

Blernsball

#2: Post by Blernsball »

Is the valve sealing right now?

Some kind folks posted some links for dent repair on my restoration thread.
La Pavoni Europiccola 1994 Restoration
I didn't do any repair as mine wasn't too bad. I just tightened it more. No leaking issues.

The dent might make the alignment of the safety valve tube a little "off" and in the way of the steam wand.
But that is easily bent with some care.

ruhler17 (original poster)

#3: Post by ruhler17 (original poster) »

As is, the valve is not sealing correctly. It begins leaking shortly after the machine is turned on.

That being said, it is still able to build pressure and get up to 1 bar.