Broken Francis Francis X1 Personal Repair Advice / Diagnostic Support

Equipment doesn't work? Troubleshooting? If you're handy, members can help.
CrossD

#1: Post by CrossD »

Short Story: No water comes through, overheats. Seeking troubleshooting advice for personal repair.

Full story:
I recently got a very old (15 years) Francis X1 machine thats been in storage a good time and was likely never descaled. Needless to say, it doesn't work.

I'm an engineer and want to fix it myself, but I know nothing about espresso, except how to drink it. I know very little about how the machine should be operated.

So far I've taken it apart. And have been moving forward in the process from pump on. I first had to prime the pump (fill with water) to get it to move water through the system. I also did this the poor way by dissembling it, filling it with water, then reassembling it. It now steams, but no water will come out where the coffee should come from. I see water move to the boiler but not out. This is improvement though!

I removed / disassembled the boiler, and descaled. There was a lot of the stuff. It appeared to have enough to clog it up, but after a good descaling no luck. Still no hot water. (We'll get to coffee one day).

Also, after running the machine for ~20 seconds to see if water would get through it got incredible hot. Maybe 160 if the scale is accurate past the steam range. At that point, I turned it off, unplugged it, opened the steam valve and ran to another room to hide til it cooled down.

On that note, the steam wand does work and very well in fact.

Open question: I also took the spring / plug out of the bottom of the boiler. It seemed like I could overtighten both the spring cap, and the metal plate with holes to where water may not come out. I'll be testing this next. Can anyone advise on how tight / loose to make each of these.