BrewHob: Retrofitable IoT Controller

Equipment doesn't work? Troubleshooting? If you're handy, members can help.
tmazer

#1: Post by tmazer » Mar 16, 2019, 2:29 pm

Figured y'alls would be interested in hearing about this. I'm studying Computer Engineering at the University of Michigan, and put together what is essentially a wifi-enabled Gicar 3d5 as my senior design project. I'd be happy to share any info on this little guy. It does everything the old Gicar could do, plus we put the PID (and a little extra) right on the board.

The idea came from a few years of experience as a barista and coffee tech, and found that La Marzocco and Modbar were looking forward to big data-driven development.

Before the switch, we saw a 2gr linea fluctuating up to 20 degrees on the original PID. We dialed in a new set of PID parameters, plus had a bit of a feed-forward algorithm, where it would notice the flowmeters spin, and proactively start heating the element more aggressively. Over the course 120 shots of espresso in 1 day, we didn't see it fluctuate more than 2degrees from the setpoint of 200degrees.

For the technicians, we have a feature we call the "Brewhob shell," which essentially is a wireless command line for the board. It has a soft AP which you can connect to with a computer, then you open up a command line, and have a set of commands (like "set group1 on/off") to manually control all the solenoids, heating elements, PID parameters, etc. You can even check how much current the heating elements are drawing.

For cafe owners, we have a dashboard, which can be reached by brewhob.com, where you have all the diagnostic info, like number of shots pulled on each group, average flow-rates, and a plot showing the boiler temperature over different ranges of time. This'll be handy for more pro-active preventative maintenance. No point in rebuilding your left group as often as your right if you don't use it as much.