Breville Dual Boiler 900XL no flow thru group head

Equipment doesn't work? Troubleshooting? If you're handy, members can help.
park_ridge_dave

#1: Post by park_ridge_dave »

Hi,

newbie here. I have a BDB 900XL that I have owned since Nov. of 2012. Long story short, down-sizing to a condo in Naples so unit ended up in storage for 2 years. Now I fire it up and no water comes thru the group head. I changed the solenoid and that didn't fix the problem. I don't have a shop space here so I can't tear it down on a bench. I only have the island in the kitchen. So I am a little limited on what I can do. I can't leave it in "pieces" while I track down parts (e.g.).

Here are the symptoms:

1.) Hot water and steam wand function normally.
2.) Pump makes normal sounds (but does not seem to be loading).
3.) Tried backflush via clean cycle but no flow.
4.) Visually inspected for blocking "crud". Nothing found.

I ran some cycles with the top off looking to see if the PRV (pressure relief valve) was "shorting out" the water back to the reservoir but results were inconclusive (I have very old eyes).

I guess I have 2 questions:

1.) Does anyone have a piping diagram for this puppy?
2.) Does anyone know of a detailed trouble-shooting procedure?

I will keep researching this forum as it seems to have a lot of useful info.

Thanks in advance,

Dave

WWWired

#2: Post by WWWired »

Hi park_ridge_dave :)

yep. . . storage will do that . . . it is possible that as the unit was stored and not passing water through regularly, the water that was inside the machine slowly evaporated or dried in certain components.

There are two pumps on your BES900XL. One for the Brew Boiler Hydraulic Pathway and one for the Steam Hydraulic Pathway.

The indication is he pump "does not seem to be loading." Before removing the pump for inspection and cleaning, a few other thoughts.

The original post's fault list is interesting and may offer some clues . . .