Breville BES830XL with flow problems

Equipment doesn't work? Troubleshooting? If you're handy, members can help.
eigma

#1: Post by eigma »

Hello, I just rescued a Breville BES830XL from the neighbours, they had left it on the curb. The machine is ~10 years old, has been repaired once, and has flow problems. Myself, I have a lot of experience drinking coffee.. but never owned an espresso machine or repaired one; though I am reasonably handy.

I cleaned the exterior with a damp cloth. Tried feeding it some descaling liquid (1 part vinegar, 1 part water) but it wouldn't pull much.

I did a decent amount of research, found that the pumps often fail, and opened it up with the intent to clean and test the pump separately:

The pump is an Ulka EFP5 vibratory (with diode):

Took the pump apart, found a few spots of rust.

Nothing that could explain a severe pump failure though, I think. I cleaned everything either mechanically (gently scraping the rust) or soaking in descaling liquid overnight. The springs, "ball", O-rings were intact and quite clean actually.

My first question: On the output of the pump there is a spring-loaded check valve (non-return valve). It's the blue cap + spring + red plunger from this site: http://www.madeinthegarage.com/articles ... g=fr&pg=36 The valve is adjustable, the red piece rotates freely and controls the tension on the spring. The range is around ~10 turns. What is the correct way to adjust this valve?

Anyway I connected the pump directly to the intake tube, here is what it looked like:
Does that look reasonable?

While working on the pump, I also noticed the small water intake filter was cracked:

I also noticed it had pale yellow gunk stuck to the mesh and black specks. I soaked it in vinegar, then in rubbing alcohol, then cleaned it with an interdental brush. Worked wonders to get the gunk off, looked visibly cleaner and whiter.

I glued it back together temporarily with gorilla glue, and put everything back together.