Breville Barista Express BES870 - No water coming through grouphead - solenoid issue?

Equipment doesn't work? Troubleshooting? If you're handy, members can help.
Alice

#1: Post by Alice »

Hi All,

DIY repair novice here. I have a Breville Barista Express BES870 at my workplace which just recently has not had any water coming through the group head. Steam wand and hot water output still working fine. Have put a vinegar/water and descaling solution through to no avail. Pump still appears to work when pressing for an extraction, but no water coming through. Have now opened up the back to try to diagnose and the solenoid (on the right) looks like it has had a blow out (see images attached).

Can anyone confirm if this is a reasonable diagnosis based on the images and issues described?

New solenoid is ~$155, and I am hoping I may be able to order online and replace myself (am I being over ambitious??).

Any help/guidance gratefully received.

Many thanks,
Alice

Caffeine

#2: Post by Caffeine »

I wouldn't replace that expensive on the assumption it's broken, test it!

Turn it on and measure if the solenoid gets powered, if there's power going to it, but it ain't working, it's probably broken. If theres no power... well then it's something else.

Assuming its broken; take it out, inspect it, see if you can find out how it works and why it doesn't. Test it outside the machine, measure resistance over the two contacts (both ways since we don't know if it's one that has an AC input, with a rectifier, but you could google that too).

Then perhaps if the selenoid valve really is broken, you could only replace the selenoid part, not the valve part, which is pretty hard to break. Perhaps only cleaning or slightly lubricating the valve is needed.: quick google search: