Brasilia Century triggering the circuit breaker once power goes on

Equipment doesn't work? Troubleshooting? If you're handy, members can help.
rgalang

#1: Post by rgalang »

Hello!
I recently purchased a used Brasilia Century as a winter project. I'm in a rut and hopefully can get some advise.

The machine has two power modes. First click, the pump and electronics turn on. Second click, the heating element should go on. On the first click, everything works. I can draw cold water from the reservoir and out the grouphead. My problem is on the 2nd click which should heat up the boiler. It triggers my breaker once I turn the power. I'm using 20 amp circuit as suggested. I've used both types of outlets in my kitchen. One with a GFCI and one that is connected to the main panel. Both ways trips the breaker.

To be honest, I have very little electrical experience. I'm at the early stage of just wondering what isn't working. I'm somewhat optimistic in that the boiler is in good condition externally and the wiring seems fairly clean. I've restored an old La Pavoni Europiccola in the past and was in much worse condition. But was also a much simpler machine.

The one question I have is this disconnected wire (see pic). What is it supposed to be connected to (if at all)?

I tracked it to its source and it's up here by the *yellow and green wire*. Located by the steamer.

Wondering if this sensor could be it too. There seems to be a broken piece of plastic?

Other images of the wiring.

Hope to find a solution that won't require purchasing a new heating element. Thanks in advance!
"Coffee is a hug in a mug"

rgalang (original poster)

#2: Post by rgalang (original poster) »

Found the source of the problem. A very damaged heating element. My next question - how best can I replace this? I found the exact item in cafeparts, but sadly they're not available.

JRising
Team HB

#3: Post by JRising »