Another Zacconi La Riviera Refurb with Questions

Equipment doesn't work? Troubleshooting? If you're handy, members can help.
mjferg

#1: Post by mjferg »

Hello,

With the help of past threads, I managed to fully disassemble my Zacconi La Riviera this morning. Overall, the machine is in decent shape, but I do have a couple of issues / questions, as I am fairly new to espresso machine work.

1. The boiler is the main area where I have questions. As you can see in the attached pictures, the 2 bolts that come out of the bottom of the boiler to bolt it to the base have sheared off (prior to me getting the machine). Any thoughts on just leaving as is and using just the the large ring to hold the boiler to the base? Other thoughts?

Answer: I think I will leave it alone for now. If I have issues when using it, I will pull it back apart and tap the boiler and braze in some brass studs.

2. What is recommended to descale the inside of the copper boiler (outside appears to be nickel or chrome plated). Can I soak the whole thing in some kind of solution, or will that wreak havoc on the outside finish?

Answer: I soaked the entire boiler in a 50/50 vinegar mix for 2 hours and it worked perfectly.

3. What is recommended to descale the lines that were inside the boiler and/or the heater element?

Answer: I soaked everything in a 50/50 vinegar mix and it worked perfectly.

3. I am thinking of putting a plug in the bottom of the boiler (drain line) where the line leading to the fitting to allow plumb in was connected. I don't see any need to reconnect this line. Does anyone know what size brass fitting might be used here? Are these fitting common sized that I can find in the US, or are they metric?

Answer; Plug is a 1/8" bpps fitting.

That's all I can think of for now. I have some work to do on the outside of the boiler and the base (may end up powder coating the base, tbd).

Thanks for any help.

Mark

mjferg (original poster)

#2: Post by mjferg (original poster) »