Zerowatt CA 708 restoration

A haven dedicated to manual espresso machine aficionados.
Ehrenrolf

#1: Post by Ehrenrolf »

Hello everyone,
I'm fairly new to the world of coffee but have recently found a disassembled Zerowatt CA 708 (Spain) that apparently my grandfather was working on before his passing about 11 years ago and I'd really like to try to give this machine a new life. I have already ordered a seal kit from Francesco as most of the original seals are in bad condition. Since I have very little experience with restorations I'm a bit cautious about the aluminum stuff, I think I have a rough general idea what needs to be done but would really appreciate some advice if there's anything I need to pay special attention to, if there's things that need to be done in a specific order or whatever else there might need to be done. My first thought was to start with descaling the parts, removing any oxidation and then replacing the seals but I'm guessing some things might pop up as I go (the portafilter probably needs new chrome for example). I couldn't really figure out how to attach images yet but here's a Dropbox Link with some pictures: https://www.dropbox.com/sh/xry0i0van2j1 ... 0UGYa?dl=0
Many thanks for your help in advance!

Nunas
Supporter ♡

#2: Post by Nunas »