Yet Another Lever Project (with a weird twist)

A haven dedicated to manual espresso machine aficionados.
karl_a_hall

#1: Post by karl_a_hall »

While I've been failing in showing the progress on my other lever project (see old posts) I've had it together, pulled shots, and now pulling it apart to go super-instrumented on it.

BUT, part of the reason I'm pulling that one apart and using it as a learning opportunity for even more controls experiments I want to do (I'm a mechanical engineer who has done IOT and connected controlled machine+factory builds at a grand scale) that are specific to espresso is because I actually managed to buy yet another lever project. Interestingly, it is the same one from this thread: Thinking about a vintage Italcrem 101 I guess two folks put down deposits but never could get it, but I managed to get it from the guy for real.

Anywho... it is in incredible shape. I bet no more than 10 shots thru it ever. Literally everything is basically coming apart as if it was new. It did sit with water in it so I'm pulling it all apart and the springs have a fair bit of gunk all over them so I'm sure the boiler needs dipped after the chrome stuff come out of the citric bath. I'll powder coat the frame and some of the metal panels... and polish the chrome again. And I'll do a sprect design sort of treatment to it, I hope.

But anywho... I'll work to keep this thread up to date all the way to the finish unlike my other project. Sorry about that. Good to see you all again! If anyone has tips or good experiences (or bad) I would love to hear them!

karl_a_hall (original poster)

#2: Post by karl_a_hall (original poster) »

Ok, first question... does anyone keep this safety device or switch to a modern valve?

civ

#3: Post by civ »

Hello:
Merry Xmas. =-)
karl_a_hall wrote: ... does anyone keep this safety device ...
That's not the boiler's safety valve.

The safety valve is the one further on in the photo.