Whats the verdict on the Grouphead/Bong Isolator for La Pavoni?

A haven dedicated to manual espresso machine aficionados.
Ultimatelegacy99

#1: Post by Ultimatelegacy99 »

Its been a good few months since the release of the Bong isolator. For anyone who has installed one on their unit, has there been any improvements when it comes to temperature stability over multiple shots? Personally, Im rehabilitating a 17 tear old La Pavoni Pro and Im thinking of installing one but I havent seen any in depth reviews from users.

guijan12

#2: Post by guijan12 »

I have been using it for more than 4 months now and it makes temperature management much easier.
I use my machine for 3-4 times a day, for 1-2 espresso's.

Only if I pull 4 or more espresso's in a row! I still install the heatsink first, to assist in temperature management.

Downside of the Bong isolator is that the grouphead bends much more.
As a result the Bong isolator is being pushed out out between the boiler and grouphead.

I understood from Coffee-Sensor the new series are made from Nylon and much stronger.

Regards,

Guido

ECM Manufacture: @ecmespresso #weliveespresso
Sponsored by ECM Manufacture
redbone
Supporter ♡

#3: Post by redbone »

FB member feedback has been positive. Believe this only functions with the 2nd gen group.
Between order and chaos there is espresso.
Semper discens.

Rob
LMWDP #549

LObin

#4: Post by LObin » replying to redbone »

It works on the 3rd gen group as a heat break.

You're right, the real magic happens with 2nd gen group since it allows it to be water heated only.
LMWDP #592

jtrops

#5: Post by jtrops »

I don't have one, and on a millennium model it really seems moot. As was said the real benefit is converting a v2 machine to a water heated group.