What makes lever espresso different?

A haven dedicated to manual espresso machine aficionados.
drH
Supporter ♡

#1: Post by drH »

I've read (and experienced) the difference between lever espresso and "regular" pump espresso and the claim I usually hear is that levers produce smoother and sweeter shots.

Somehow, I'd like to believe this, and when I make espresso on my Cremina I can detect the difference. But as a scientist I can't help but wonder if this is confirmation bias. What are the specific things that actually make the extraction smoother? Are they really only possible on lever machines?

Certainly the decreasing pressure profile is the usual candidate. But there is also a slightly decreasing temperature profile in a lever shot. Of course, in a manual lever the pressure is constantly adjustable to deliver the flow you want, and this can help make the best of an otherwise badly prepped puck.

So this leads me to wonder whether machines that allow flow control (like the Lelit Bianca) can reproduce a the lever taste. Will the flow adjustment alone do the trick? Will the Decent espresso machine, with a declining profile actually make a shot indistinguishable from a lever? Or, if you are using a standard 9-bar pump machine, can you achieve similarly smooth/sweet shot by flexing skills with dose, output and puck prep?

The combination of decreasing pressure and decreasing temperature seems unique to levers since even the Decent may have trouble with a temperature change from, e.g., 208F to 200F during the course of the shot. Does this matter?