User Experience with the Strietman CT2 - Page 33

A haven dedicated to manual espresso machine aficionados.
wojtowip

#321: Post by wojtowip »

Yes, but the piston itself is still brass. I'm not concerned about the walls, but the piston.
LMWDP #694

Laddu

#322: Post by Laddu »

You can measure your lead blood levels, if you want to be as safe as possible.

truemagellen

#323: Post by truemagellen »

wojtowip wrote:Yes, but the piston itself is still brass. I'm not concerned about the walls, but the piston.
Brass used in modern espresso machines is lead free brass. Brass fittings used in modern plumbing is lead free.

We machine with lead free brass all the time. Also called Naval Brass.

wojtowip

#324: Post by wojtowip »

Thanks for the info. I'm not a materials expert, so good to know it's not an issue.
LMWDP #694

TheodorAdorno

#325: Post by TheodorAdorno »

Drain the CT2 between uses or leave water in?

Word back from Wouter was that it doesn't matter. My main concern was that it might dry out the piston seals if you left the machine dry for any length of time, but, according to Wouter, it is not something to worry about.

Best,

Paul.

Ad-85

#326: Post by Ad-85 »

Thanks Paul. I have to admit that I love pulling shots on the CT2 and keep coming for more! You have to love this little thing!
LMWDB #691
LeverHeads on Telegram

Chrikelnel

#327: Post by Chrikelnel »

jpaulm wrote:I just received one, and I'm not sure about it at all. I too thought it would be a cheaper lunar alternative. Main problem so far is changing between weighing modes.