Struggling Mightily...

A haven dedicated to manual espresso machine aficionados.
leoniru

#1: Post by leoniru »

Frustrated newbie here on my second effort (first one was a few years ago) of attempts at producing at least something drinkable from my 1991 vintage MCAL (bought second hand). I am 100% UNable to produce anything that I consider drinkable though I've been trying almost exclusively with a bag of Lavazza Super Crema beans.
I have read and watched many posts/videos on the process, but have made little headway.
My grinder is a Rancilio Rocky (bought new). I know that this machine is not considered top tier or likely even middle tier for that matter, but shouldn't I be able to produce something drinkable? Every shot is super bitter with little crema no matter the grind of these beans.

I suspect all of the following as possible causes:

The Lavazza beans (though I CAN produce a somewhat drinkable product (no crema though) using these beans in an AEROPRESS)
My hard water
My grinder, or use thereof
My MCALS condition (pressurestat adjustment too high?), deposits in boiler (despite descaling with citric acid), weak spring?

Can anyone with an MCAL - and ideally ALSO USING A ROCKY GRINDER (if you exist what grind setting range do you use on your Rocky?)- put me on to a roaster and/or a specific bean/roast profile (available by mail-order) that is known to produce a decent shot? (I live in NorthEast PA.). This would go a long way to narrowing down where my problem(s) lie. Unfortunately, I do not know of anywhere that I could reasonably travel to and obtain a decent shot, so I'm beginning to think that one possibility is that perhaps I just don't like espresso.....!

Should I try using distilled water in an effort to evaluate the impact my hard tap water (filtered through a Big Berkley) may be having?