Steaming assistance on Olympia Cremina

A haven dedicated to manual espresso machine aficionados.
shawndo

#1: Post by shawndo »

I am new to a steam wand and am just finally learning how to do this. I've been getting a lot of big bubbles, which makes me thing I should stretch less, but temp-wise and stretching volume makes me thing I am stretching the right amount of time.
I have tried a few wand combinations
- Original '83 wand
- New wand replacement
- New wand + adapter + foam knife tip (current)
I know its supposedly harder to learn by doing smaller amounts of milk, but that is what I am trying to learn. This is a 12oz motta pitcher.

Please critique:
Darmok and Jalad at Tanagra

cpreston
Supporter ♡

#2: Post by cpreston »

I have the same setup- foam knife w adapter on Cremina. I like it, seems a bit better than my stock ( late model) wand.

Re video, I hold tip adjacent to side of pitcher to get fast rolling foam. You are placing it more inboard than I do. Looks like you get more turbulence and less rolling that way.

Also I was taught to practice using palm of hand to sense temp. Surprisingly accurate, and only need thermometer once in a while to check accuracy.

shawndo (original poster)

#3: Post by shawndo (original poster) »

I can use my hand for the first temp transition at 100F, but I guess I'm a bit of a wuss when it comes to sensing the stopping temperature. My regular judgement is that it is too hot at around 130F-135F.
so I started using the thermometer and only use it when I'm just about ready to stop.

cpreston wrote:ILooks like you get more turbulence and less rolling that way.
OK, this is new. I didn't realize there was a difference between rolling and turbulence. I'll try that.

Patagent

#4: Post by Patagent »

I have the foam knife on a Cremina and love it. I've used both 12 oz Motta and 10 oz Frieling pitchers with good results. With the 10 oz, steaming 2-3 ounces of milk is pretty easy. I have not tried small amounts with the Motta.