Removing Bosco group sleeve

A haven dedicated to manual espresso machine aficionados.
leehai1980

#1: Post by leehai1980 »

how do i go about removing the group sleeve from bosco group

chappcc

#2: Post by chappcc replying to leehai1980 »

You will need to fabricate something like a plunger with a diameter just less than the group inner diameter. Stephen Sweeney has posted on this in another thread here on HB. Here is the idea:

In my case, I have a two inch hole saw, where the end opposite the saw blade fits nicely with the group sleeve. I was able to position a small piece of wood over the saw blade and tap it to force the group sleeve up and out. When the sleeve was above the top of the group I was able to pull it out by hand. With some Dow 111 on the O-ring on the outer side of the sleeve, re-insertion is easy.
Also, take a look at this post: Replacing sleeve on a CMA lever (rossi group)

bgn

#3: Post by bgn »

I'm curious to know how long the sleeve lasts. I have an old cimbali m20 lever that has no sleeve, just solid brass incorporated into the group head. I didn't realize that there even were designs with sleeves until I started to look at new machines. What is the sleeve made of? Is it stainless steel or brass? Do they eventually get scored and not seal properly with the piston seals?

chappcc

#4: Post by chappcc replying to bgn »

It looks like brass with chrome plating on the inside:

bgn

#5: Post by bgn »

I assume it needs to be replaced because the chrome on the inside gets pitted and water blows by the piston seals. How often do you replace it?

walt_in_hawaii

#6: Post by walt_in_hawaii »